Detailed Electronic Resources

 

Type of Material

  • Scholarly Journals
 
SubjectMaterial Type

Academic OneFile Go to Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile iconAcademic OneFile ™ indexes and abstracts articles from a broad array of scholarly journals, popular magazines and reference sources. about Academic OneFile


Academic Search Premier Go to Academic Search Premier

ebsco.gif Academic Search Premier is the general purpose, multidisciplinary workhorse database for undergraduate research papers.  Academic Search Premier's indexed content is superb, it is easy to use, and there are a number of special featu about Academic Search Premier


ACM Digital Library / Portal Go to ACM Digital Library / Portal

The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library Portal has two components, the ACM Digital library with full text access to ACM publications and the Guide to Computing Literature.  about ACM Digital Library / Portal


AGRICOLA Go to AGRICOLA

Agricola, the National Library of Agriculure's catalog, covers all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, and soil and water resources.  It provides citations for books, dissertations, audiovisual materials, journal articles, book chapters, reports, and reprints. about AGRICOLA


America: History & Life Go to America: History & Life

AHL logoAmerica: History and Life database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for student about America: History & Life


American Chemical Society Journal Search Go to American Chemical Society Journal Search

The American Chemical Society Journal Search serves as the gateway to the American Chemical Society's publications. Search the full text of journals for articles covering chemistry and chemistry related disciplines ranging from analytical chemistry to toxicology.

You can also link to ACS journals from with the SciFinder Scholar database. about American Chemical Society Journal Search


American Periodicals Series Online Go to American Periodicals Series Online

This unique and valuable collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched, and 1900. The series includes a wide range of journals and magazines including general interest, professional, and literary titles. about American Periodicals Series Online


Annual Reviews Go to Annual Reviews

Healey Library subscribes to the entire set of Annual Reviews. The Annual Reviews collection covers the biomedical sciences, physical sciences and the social sciences. In each volume you will find reviews of the scholarly literature for a variety of specific topics. All articles are written by experts in the field. about Annual Reviews


Anthropology Plus Go to Anthropology Plus

Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource two highly respected anthropology databases, Harvard University’s Anthropological Literature and the United Kingdom’s Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index. about Anthropology Plus


AnthroSource Go to AnthroSource

The American Anthropological Association’s AnthroSource database includes the current issues of 15 of the Association’s most important peer-reviewed journals and an archive of all AAA journals.  You can set up a personal account within AnthroSource and create a list of your favorite journals and articles. about AnthroSource


Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Go to Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)

Connect to AFSA

The Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts service (ASFA) is the premier abstracting & indexing database in aquatic science. ASFA is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS), formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and a network of international and national partners, all of whom supply information. about Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)


Art Index Go to Art Index

Art Index covers all aspects of art.  It indexes articles as well as reproductions of works of art published in journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins from around the world. about Art Index


Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via ISI Web of Knowledge) Go to Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via ISI Web of Knowledge)

The Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.  Some of the disciplines covered include: archaeology, architecture, art, Asian studies, classics, dance, folklore, language, linguistics, literary reviews, literature, music, philosophy, poetry, radio, television & film, religion, and theater.  about Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via ISI Web of Knowledge)


Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) Go to Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)

The Bibliography of the History of Art covers European art from late antiquity (4th century) to the present. It also covers American art from the time of the European discoveries to the present. It indexes and abstracts journal articles, art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs.

It indexes works published from 1973 to the present. about Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)


BioMed Central Go to BioMed Central

BioMed Central publishes original, peer-reviewed articles in all areas of biomedical research and provides open access to all of these articles.  In addition, BioMed Central indexes journals from other publishers and provides access to services that do require a subscription.  about BioMed Central


Business & Company Resource Center Go to Business & Company Resource Center

Business & Company Resource Center

The Business & Company Resource Center provides business, company, and industry content in the following areas: periodical articles, news articles, and press releases; detailed information for domestic and international companies and associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures; about Business & Company Resource Center


Business Source Premier Go to Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier logoBusiness Source Premier covers the many aspects of business including accounting, finance, management, marketing, and more. about Business Source Premier


CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Go to CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)

CINAHL logoCINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators, and researchers. about CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)


Cochrane Collection Plus Go to Cochrane Collection Plus

The Cochrane Collection Plus provides access to a collection of databases which focus on the effects of health care and evidence based medical practice. about Cochrane Collection Plus


Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) Go to Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) pulls together in one database a wide variety of resources pertaining to theory and research in international affairs. about Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)


Communication & Mass Media Complete Go to Communication & Mass Media Complete

Communication & Mass Media Complete covers the journal literature in the fields of communication, mass media, and their related fields.  It includes some full text.

Although the database has journals dating back to 1915, most journal coverage starts in the 1980's or later.  about Communication & Mass Media Complete


Computing Reviews Go to Computing Reviews

Computing Reviews provides reviews of books and journal articles in any area of the computing sciences.  These reviews cover works dealing with computing science not only in the fields of mathematics, engineering, and the sciences, but also those in the social sciences and humanities.  about Computing Reviews


Criminal Justice Abstracts Go to Criminal Justice Abstracts

Criminal Justice Abstracts provides comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines.

 It includes works published from 1968 to the present. about Criminal Justice Abstracts


EconLit Go to EconLit

The American Economic Association’s Econlit covers all fields of economics. It is international in scope. It indexes journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers and book reviews from 1969 to the present. about EconLit


Educator's Reference Complete Go to Educator's Reference Complete

Educator’s Reference Complete covers all levels of education and concentrates on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. about Educator's Reference Complete


Energy Citations Database Go to Energy Citations Database

Energy Citations contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). about Energy Citations Database


ERIC (EBSCO) Go to ERIC (EBSCO)

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is a digital library of education research materials sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. about ERIC (EBSCO)


ERIC (Public) Go to ERIC (Public)

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is a digital library of education research materials sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. It indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, conference papers, policy papers, and other education-related materials. about ERIC (Public)


Expanded Academic ASAP Go to Expanded Academic ASAP

Expanded Academic ASAP indexes magazines and scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences from 1980 to the present. It includes some full-text articles. about Expanded Academic ASAP


General Business File ASAP Go to General Business File ASAP

General Business File indexes business journals from 1982 to the present.  It also provides Company Profiles, which give basic information about a company and link to related articles; Investment Reports; and searchable SIC descriptions. It includes some full-text publications. about General Business File ASAP


General OneFile Go to General OneFile

General OneFileGeneral OneFile is a multipurpose and multidisciplinary database with a strength in magazine and news articles.  It also includes scholarly journal articles and multimedia broadcast transcripts some of which are podcasts and audio files. about General OneFile


Global Issues in Context Go to Global Issues in Context

Global Issues in Context: Perspectives on International News and Events provides in one resource a multitude of ways to stay up-to-date with economic, environmental, health, military, political, and social global issues. about Global Issues in Context


Google Scholar Go to Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. about Google Scholar


GreenFILE Go to GreenFILE

GreenFILE includes scholarly, government, and general interest titles that focus on the environment. It is a multidisciplinary database, which pulls together resources from many fields including agriculture, environmental sciences, health, law and technology. about GreenFILE


Health & Wellness Resource Center Go to Health & Wellness Resource Center

Health & Wellness Resource CenterThe Health and Wellness Resource Center provides information on diseases and conditions as well as drugs.  It includes a mix of medical resources including encyclopedias and a dictionary, health and medical journal ar about Health & Wellness Resource Center


Health Reference Center - Academic Go to Health Reference Center - Academic

Health Reference Center - Academic covers medical, nutrition, and public health topics. It includes a mixture of scholarly journals and popular magazines as well as some reference books, news articles, and multi-media resources.  It has some full text publications. about Health Reference Center - Academic


Historical Abstracts Go to Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts the world’s scholarly literature in history except for the United States and Canada. For those countries use America History and Life. about Historical Abstracts


History Resource Center: U.S. Go to History Resource Center: U.S.

History Resource Center: U.S.History Resource Center: U.S. covers U.S. history from its beginnings to the present day.  It includes primary source documents, journal articles, news articles, reference works providing background essays and biographies, maps and other mulitimedia resources, and an historical chronology of U.S. history.  about History Resource Center: U.S.


History Resource Center: World Go to History Resource Center: World

History Resource Center:  WorldHistory Resource Center: World covers world history from prehistoric times to the present day.  It includes primary source documents, journal articles, news articles, reference works providing background essays and biographies, map about History Resource Center: World


IEEE Computer Society Digital Library Go to IEEE Computer Society Digital Library

IEEE Computer Society Library provides full text access to IEEE Computer Society peer-reviewed journals since 1989 and conference papers since 1996, as well as links to information about all activities of the Society.  about IEEE Computer Society Digital Library


Infotrieve Go to Infotrieve

Infotrieve provides strong coverage of medicine, science, and technology journal articles.  It also covers to a lesser extent the social sciences.  about Infotrieve


IngentaConnect Go to IngentaConnect

Ingenta is a large multidisciplinary database that indexes academic and professional journal articles.  about IngentaConnect


Institute of Physics - Historic Journal Archive Go to Institute of Physics - Historic Journal Archive

The Institute of Physics archive provides access to the full text of all IOP articles published prior to the most recent ten years. All other IOP years are indexed, with full text limited to the current issue of all titles, plus the latest ten years of IOP journals to which we are subscribed. about Institute of Physics - Historic Journal Archive


ISI HighlyCited.com Go to ISI HighlyCited.com

ISI HighlyCited.com provides biographical information and a listing of publications for the most highly cited researchers with articles published between 1981-1999 in the sciences and social sciences. You can search by subject category and by specific author or browse the list of  researchers, their institutions and countries. about ISI HighlyCited.com


ISI Web of Knowledge Go to ISI Web of Knowledge

ISI Web of Knowledge logoThe ISI Web of Knowledge portal provides access to two databases, the Web of Science and Medline. about ISI Web of Knowledge


ITER - Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Go to ITER - Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

The Iter Bibliography covers scholarship pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400AD to 1700AD). It provides citations to articles in 1,026 journals, published from 1842 to the present, and to books and conference proceedings. The database also includes a directory of Renaissance and Reformation associations, and a directory of Renaissance and early modern scholars. about ITER - Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance


JSTOR Go to JSTOR

JSTOR logoThe gold standard for scholarly journals

JSTOR's (Journal Storage) archives include scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All full text. about JSTOR


Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) Go to Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts, (LISTA) indexes periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. about Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)


Literature Resources from Gale Go to Literature Resources from Gale

Literature Resource Center pulls together the content of many of the Gale literature databases.  You can search across the whole database or select individual content types including biographies, MLA (the Modern Language Association International Bibliography), prim about Literature Resources from Gale


LitFinder Go to LitFinder

LitFinderLitFinder 's large full text collection of poetry, short fiction, essays, plays, classic novels, and speeches spans the world and history.  Poetry forms the core of the LitFinder collection and it includes over 800 Spanish language poems with English about LitFinder


Massachusetts History Online Go to Massachusetts History Online

Massachusetts History Online contains articles that directly relate to Massachusetts - historical events, people, places, and more. The articles are drawn from other Gale Group products and include a mix of scholarly journal, magazine and newspaper articles. about Massachusetts History Online


MathSciNet Go to MathSciNet

The American Mathematical Society's MathSciNet, Mathematical Reviews on the Web, provides in depth coverage of the mathematics literature.  It has reviews written by experts of articles, conference papers and books from 1940 to the present.  Additionally it includes bibligraphic data for articles from 1864 to the present. about MathSciNet


Medline (via EBSCOHost) Go to Medline (via EBSCOHost)

EBSCO icon

Created by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information o about Medline (via EBSCOHost)


Medline (via ISI Web of Knowledge) Go to Medline (via ISI Web of Knowledge)

MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It contains over 12 million records of journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. about Medline (via ISI Web of Knowledge)


MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography (EBSCO) Go to MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography (EBSCO)

As its name indicates, the MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography includes resources from around the world. It indexes journal articles, books and dissertations in literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. about MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography (EBSCO)


MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography (Gale) Go to MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography (Gale)

As its name indicates, the MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography includes resources from around the world. about MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography (Gale)


Oceanic Abstracts Go to Oceanic Abstracts

Connect to Oceanic Abstracts
 
 
Oceanic Abstracts is focused exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment.  The database has long been recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to oceans.  Oceanic Abstracts focuses on:

  • Marine biology
  • Physical oceanography
  • Fisheries and aquaculture
  • Meteorology and geology
  • Environmental, technological, and legislative topics

  about Oceanic Abstracts


Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Go to Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center covers both sides of the difficult "hot topic" issues of today.  It includes a diverse array of resources including articles, primary documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, statistics, court case overviews, pr about Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center


Project MUSE Go to Project MUSE

Project Muse provides an online collection of scholarly peer-reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences from not-for-profit publishers. It includes journals from such fields as economics, education, history, literature, and political science. about Project MUSE


ProQuest Education Journals Go to ProQuest Education Journals

Offering complete information on hundreds of educational topics, this database covers almost 400 leading journals in the field. about ProQuest Education Journals


ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source Go to ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source

An excellent resource for researchers in nursing, community health sciences, communications disorders and other health-related disciplines. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source contains over 250 full text nursing and allied health journals. Full text begins in the early to mid 1990's, but indexing goes back to the early 1980's. about ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source


Protein Data Bank Go to Protein Data Bank

The Protein Databank - an Information Portal to Biological Macromolecular Structures

The Research Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics (RCSB) Protein Databank provides a variety of tools and resources for studying the structures of biological macromolecules and their relationships to sequence, function, and disease.  about Protein Data Bank


PsycARTICLES Go to PsycARTICLES

PsycARTICLES is a definitive source of searchable full text articles on all aspects of psychology including general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. about PsycARTICLES


PsycINFO Go to PsycINFO

The American Psychological Association

Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO is the major research database in the field of psychology.  It covers all areas of psychology as well as psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. about PsycINFO


PubMed (with links to UMass Boston holdings) Go to PubMed (with links to UMass Boston holdings)

PubMed (with links to UMass Boston Holdings) provides direct links to online articles available through Healey Library. Click on the UMB Online icon in the Abstract or Abstract Plus display options to access the online articles.  PubMed also links to some free open access full text. about PubMed (with links to UMass Boston holdings)


RDS Business Suite Go to RDS Business Suite

RDS iconThe RDS Business Suite is a collection of three highly complementary business information databases - Business & Industry, Business & Management Practices, and TableBase. The RDS Business Suite search interface is useful when searching for broad profiling information about companies or industries. about RDS Business Suite


RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Go to RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) provides in depth international coverage of the field of music.  It indexes a great variety of materials including articles, books, bibliographies, dissertations, films and videos, concert reviews and recording notes.  In order to be included the item must have scholarly value. about RILM Abstracts of Music Literature


Science Citation Index Expanded (via ISI Web of Knowledge) Go to Science Citation Index Expanded (via ISI Web of Knowledge)

Science Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences.  Some of the disciplines covered include agriculture, astronomy, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, chemistry, computer science, materials science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, oncology, pediatrics, pharmacology, physics, plant sciences, psychiatry, surgery, veterinary science and zoo about Science Citation Index Expanded (via ISI Web of Knowledge)


ScienceDirect Go to ScienceDirect

science direct logo

ScienceDirect provides full text online access to over 900 Elsevier journals to which Healey Library subscribes.  This set of journals is a key component of Healey Libra about ScienceDirect


Scifinder Web Go to Scifinder Web

SciFinder is now available only on the web. The Library's access to the SciFinder client version ended May 28, 2009.

New users to SciFinder Web must register for an account. In order to register, you must have a UMass Boston email address.  Register for an Account.

Healey Library has a single user license for SciFinder.  If someone else is using the database, you will not be able to access it. about Scifinder Web


Scirus Go to Scirus

Scirus is the most comprehensive scientific research tool on the web. about Scirus


Social Sciences Citation Index (via ISI Web of Knowledge) Go to Social Sciences Citation Index (via ISI Web of Knowledge)

Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. about Social Sciences Citation Index (via ISI Web of Knowledge)


SocINDEX with Full Text Go to SocINDEX with Full Text

SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database. It indexes and abstracts journals, books, monographs, conference papers and other resources. about SocINDEX with Full Text


Syndicate content