Detailed Electronic Resources

 

Subjects

  • Medicine, Nursing, and Health
 
SubjectMaterial Type

Academic OneFile Go to Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile iconAcademic OneFile ™ indexes and abstracts articles from a broad array of scholarly journals, popular magazines and reference sources. about Academic OneFile


Academic Search Premier Go to Academic Search Premier

ebsco.gif Academic Search Premier is the general purpose, multidisciplinary workhorse database for undergraduate research papers.  Academic Search Premier's indexed content is superb, it is easy to use, and there are a number of special featu about Academic Search Premier


Ageline Go to Ageline

AARP logoAgeLine is an online, bibliographic database produced by American Association of Retired Persons (AARP) that focuses on the subject of aging and middle-aged and older adults, particularly addressing thesocial, psychological, economic, policy, and health care aspects of aging.  Our subscription access is limited to 4 simultaneous users. about Ageline


Annual Reviews Go to Annual Reviews

Healey Library subscribes to the entire set of Annual Reviews. The Annual Reviews collection covers the biomedical sciences, physical sciences and the social sciences. In each volume you will find reviews of the scholarly literature for a variety of specific topics. All articles are written by experts in the field. about Annual Reviews


BioMed Central Go to BioMed Central

BioMed Central publishes original, peer-reviewed articles in all areas of biomedical research and provides open access to all of these articles.  In addition, BioMed Central indexes journals from other publishers and provides access to services that do require a subscription.  about BioMed Central


CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Go to CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)

CINAHL logoCINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators, and researchers. about CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)


Cochrane Collection Plus Go to Cochrane Collection Plus

The Cochrane Collection Plus provides access to a collection of databases which focus on the effects of health care and evidence based medical practice. about Cochrane Collection Plus


CogPrints Go to CogPrints

CogPrints is an electronic archive for research papers that relate to the study of cognition.  It is a publicly accessible website in which researchers can preserve their work as digital documents. about CogPrints


Ebrary - Academic Complete Go to Ebrary - Academic Complete

Ebrary contains the full text of more than 45,000 nonfiction books, all from academic publishers. The books cover a wide array of subjects including business, marketing and economics; computers and information technology; education; engineering and technology; health, biomedical and clinical sciences; history and humanities; life and physical science; social and behavioral sciences. about Ebrary - Academic Complete


Gale Virtual Reference Library Go to Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Gale Virtual Reference collection includes general reference resources as well as titles in the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and the social sciences. about Gale Virtual Reference Library


Health & Wellness Resource Center Go to Health & Wellness Resource Center

Health & Wellness Resource CenterThe Health and Wellness Resource Center provides information on diseases and conditions as well as drugs.  It includes a mix of medical resources including encyclopedias and a dictionary, health and medical journal ar about Health & Wellness Resource Center


Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) Go to Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)

Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
about Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)


Health Reference Center - Academic Go to Health Reference Center - Academic

Health Reference Center - Academic covers medical, nutrition, and public health topics. It includes a mixture of scholarly journals and popular magazines as well as some reference books, news articles, and multi-media resources.  It has some full text publications. about Health Reference Center - Academic


History & Theory of Psychology Eprint Archive Go to History & Theory of Psychology Eprint Archive

The Eprint Archive is "offered as a free service to the community of scholarly historians and theoreticians of psychology with the goal of promoting the rapid dissemination of new work in the field."  Papers included in the archive have not been peer reviewed. about History & Theory of Psychology Eprint Archive


Infotrieve Go to Infotrieve

Infotrieve provides strong coverage of medicine, science, and technology journal articles.  It also covers to a lesser extent the social sciences.  about Infotrieve


Medline (via EBSCOHost) Go to Medline (via EBSCOHost)

EBSCO icon

Created by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information o about Medline (via EBSCOHost)


Medline (via ISI Web of Knowledge) Go to Medline (via ISI Web of Knowledge)

MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It contains over 12 million records of journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. about Medline (via ISI Web of Knowledge)


Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Go to Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center covers both sides of the difficult "hot topic" issues of today.  It includes a diverse array of resources including articles, primary documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, statistics, court case overviews, pr about Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center


Pre-CINAHL Go to Pre-CINAHL

A companion database to CINAHL, Pre-CINAHL is intended to provide current awareness of new journal articles, and includes a rotating file of limited bibliographic information (no subject searching), which are available to searchers only for the time when these articles are being assigned additional indexing. about Pre-CINAHL


ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source Go to ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source

An excellent resource for researchers in nursing, community health sciences, communications disorders and other health-related disciplines. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source contains over 250 full text nursing and allied health journals. Full text begins in the early to mid 1990's, but indexing goes back to the early 1980's. about ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source


PubMed (with links to UMass Boston holdings) Go to PubMed (with links to UMass Boston holdings)

PubMed (with links to UMass Boston Holdings) provides direct links to online articles available through Healey Library. Click on the UMB Online icon in the Abstract or Abstract Plus display options to access the online articles.  PubMed also links to some free open access full text. about PubMed (with links to UMass Boston holdings)


Science Citation Index Expanded (via ISI Web of Knowledge) Go to Science Citation Index Expanded (via ISI Web of Knowledge)

Science Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences.  Some of the disciplines covered include agriculture, astronomy, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, chemistry, computer science, materials science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, oncology, pediatrics, pharmacology, physics, plant sciences, psychiatry, surgery, veterinary science and zoo about Science Citation Index Expanded (via ISI Web of Knowledge)


ScienceDirect Go to ScienceDirect

science direct logo

ScienceDirect provides full text online access to over 900 Elsevier journals to which Healey Library subscribes.  This set of journals is a key component of Healey Libra about ScienceDirect


Scifinder Web Go to Scifinder Web

SciFinder is now available only on the web. The Library's access to the SciFinder client version ended May 28, 2009.

New users to SciFinder Web must register for an account. In order to register, you must have a UMass Boston email address.  Register for an Account.

Healey Library has a single user license for SciFinder.  If someone else is using the database, you will not be able to access it. about Scifinder Web


Scirus Go to Scirus

Scirus is the most comprehensive scientific research tool on the web. about Scirus


Syndicate content