Healey Library home
UMass Boston home
Ask a Librarian...24/7!
Live Chat (ASK 24/7)
HOME  |   UMB  |   FAQ

Databases & Indexes - delicious icon Save to del.icio.us


Notice: Use of many of these resources is governed by license agreements which restrict use to the UMB community and to individuals who use the Healey Library's facilities. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use these products for individual, noncommercial purposes.
Browse: All Databases  |  New Databases
Browse By Letter: A  |   B  |   C  |   D  |   E  |   F  |   G  |   H  |   I  |   J  |   K  |   L  |   M  |   N  |   O  |   P  |   Q  |   R  |   S  |   T  |   U  |   V  |   W  |   X  |   Y  |   Z
List databases by subject:

Displaying records 1 through 165

Title/Provider Coverage Format/Access
360 Search   
Serials Solutions
Varies Web
Licensed

Academic OneFile   
Gale Group
Varies considerably Web
Licensed

Academic Search Premier   
EBSCO
1970- Web
Licensed

ACM Digital Library / Portal   
Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
1948- Web
Licensed

Ageline   
SilverPlatter
1978- Web
Licensed

AGRICOLA   
National Agricultural Library
1970- (Books, etc);
1981-present (Articles, etc)
Web
Public

America: History & Life   
EBSCO
1964- Web
Licensed

American Chemical Society Journal Search   
ACS (American Chemical Society) Publications
varies by publication Web
Licensed

American National Biography   
Oxford University Press (ANB, DNB)
All eras of American history. Web
Licensed

American Periodicals Series Online   
Proquest
1740-1900 Web
Licensed

Annual Reviews   
Annual Reviews
Varies Web
Licensed

Anthropology Plus   
OCLC FirstSearch
Late 19th century- Web
Licensed

AnthroSource   
University of California Press
Varies Web
Licensed

Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)   
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
1971- Web
Licensed

Art Index   
H.W. Wilson
1984- Web
Licensed

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via ISI Web of Knowledge)   
Thomson ISI
1978- Web
Licensed

arXiv   
Cornell University
1991 - Web
Public

arXiv Frontend   
University of California Davis
Web
Public

Behavioral and Brain Sciences Open Archive   
University of California Davis
1993 - Web
Public

Berkshire Eagle   
Proquest
2005 - present Web
Licensed

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)   
OCLC FirstSearch
1973- Web
Licensed

Biography Resource Center   
Gale Group
varies Web
Licensed

BioMedCentral   
BioMedCentral
2000- Web
Public

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online   
Blackwell Publishing
2006 - Web
Licensed

Books 24/7 (IT Pro Collection)   
Books 24x7
Varies Web
Licensed

Boston Globe   
Proquest
1980-present Web
Licensed

Boston Globe (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)   
Proquest
1872-1923 Web
Licensed

Boston Herald   
Proquest
1991-present Web
Licensed

Britannica Online   
Encyclopedia Britannica, Inc.
Web
Licensed

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)   
U.S. Dept. of Commerce (NBER)
Varies Web
Public

Business Source Premier   
EBSCO
1922- Web
Licensed

BusinessWest   
Proquest
1992-present Web
Licensed

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities   
Cabell's Publishing
Most recent edition Web
Licensed

Cambridge Collections Online   
Cambridge University Press
1991- Web
Licensed

CCH Tax Research Network   
CCH
varies by publication Web
Licensed

Chicago Manual of Style Online   
University of Chicago Press
15th, ed. c 2003; 2006 impression Web
Licensed

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)   
EBSCO
1982- Web
Licensed

Cochrane Collection Plus   
EBSCO
Varies Web
Licensed

CogPrints   
Cornell University
Web
Public

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)   
CIAO (Columbia University Press)
1991- Web
Licensed

Communication & Mass Media Complete   
EBSCO
1915- Web
Licensed

COMPUSTAT - North America   
Standard and Poors
1987- Client Software
Software

Computing Reviews   
Reviews.com
Web
Licensed

Contemporary Literary Criticism   
Gale Group
Web
Licensed

COS (Community of Science) Funding Opportunities   
Community of Science, Inc.
Web
Licensed

CQ Encyclopedia of American Government   
CQ Press
Varies Web
Licensed

CQ Researcher   
CQ Press
1991- Web
Licensed

CQ Weekly   
CQ Press
1983- Web
Licensed

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics   
Chapman & Hall / CRC Press
Varies Web
Licensed

Credo Reference   
Credo Reference
Varies Web
Licensed

Criminal Justice Abstracts   
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
1968- Web
Licensed

Cryptology ePrint Archive   
BBS
Web
Public

Dissertation Abstracts Online   
OCLC FirstSearch
Indexes dissertations: 1861-;
Includes abstracts of dissertations: 1980-;
Indexes and abstracts masters theses: 1988-
Web
Licensed

Documentary Sources for the Arts and Humanities in the Medici Granducal Archive: 1537-1743   
The Medici Archive Project
Web
Public

Ebrary - Academic Complete   
Ebrary
Varies Web
Licensed

EBSCO - Education Databases   
EBSCO
Varies Web
Licensed

EBSCO Animals   
EBSCO
Latest edition Web
Licensed

EBSCOhost Databases   
EBSCO
varies Web
Licensed

EconLit   
EBSCO
1969- Web
Licensed

Educator's Reference Complete   
Gale Group
1980- Web
Licensed

Educator's Reference Desk   
Educator's Reference Desk
1966- Web
Public

Energy Citations Database   
U.S. Dept. of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information
1948- Web
Public

ERIC   
IES (Institute of Educational Services)
1966- Web
Public

ERIC   
EBSCO
1966- Web
Licensed

Ethnic NewsWatch   
Proquest
1990- Web
Licensed

Europa World Online   
Europa Publications
Varies Web
Licensed

Expanded Academic ASAP   
Gale Group
1980- Web
Licensed

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia   
EBSCO
Latest edition Web
Licensed

Gale Databases (Thompson/Gale)   
Gale Group
Varies Web
Licensed

Gale Virtual Reference Library   
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Varies Web
Licensed

Gazette (Haverill, MA)   
Proquest
December 1992 - August 9, 1997 Web
Licensed

General Business File ASAP   
Gale Group
1980- Web
Licensed

General OneFile   
Gale Group
1980 - Web
Licensed

General Reference Center Gold   
Gale Group
1980- Web
Licensed

GPO (Government Printing Office)   
OCLC FirstSearch
1976- Web
Licensed

Grant Advisor Plus   
Grant Advisor
1983- Web
Licensed

Grove Art Online   
Oxford University Press (Grove Art)
Varies Web
Licensed

Grove Music Online   
Oxford University Press (Grove Music)
Varies Web
Licensed

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)   
Wolters Kluwer
1985 - Web
Licensed

Health Reference Center - Academic   
Gale Group
1980- Web
Licensed

Historical Abstracts   
EBSCO
1954- Web
Licensed

Historical Statistics of the United States   
Cambridge University Press
Web
Licensed

History & Theory of Psychology Eprint Archive   
University of Southampton, England
Web
Public

Hoover's Company and Industry Reports (via LexisNexis Academic)   
LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions
Most recent edition Web
Licensed

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)   
ICPSR
Varies Web
Licensed

IEEE Computer Society Digital Library   
IEEE
journals 1989-, conference proceedings 1996- Web
Licensed

Infotrieve   
Infotrieve, Inc.
Varies Web
Licensed

IngentaConnect   
Ingenta
1988- Web
Licensed

Institute of Physics - Historic Journal Archive   
Institute of Physics
Varies Web
Licensed

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences   
Elsevier Science
2002- Web
Licensed

International Financial Statistics Online Service   
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
1948- Web
Licensed

iPoll   
Roper Center, University of Connecticut
1935 to the present Web
Licensed

ISI HighlyCited.com   
Thomson ISI
1981- Web
Public

ISI Web of Knowledge   
Thomson ISI
1978- Web
Licensed

ITER - Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance   
University of Toronto
Varies Web
Licensed

JSTOR   
JSTOR
1800s up to two to five years ago (no current journal coverage available) Web
Licensed

Junior Edition - K12   
Gale Group
1980s- Web
Licensed

Kids InfoBits   
Gale Group
1989 - Web
Licensed

LexisNexis Academic   
LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions
varies by publication Web
Licensed

LexisNexis Congressional   
LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions
varies by publication Web
Licensed

LexisNexis Statistical   
LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions
varies by publications Web
Licensed

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)   
EBSCO
Mid-1960's Web
Licensed

Literary Reference Center   
EBSCO
Varies Web
Licensed

MAS Ultra - School Edition   
EBSCO
1975 - Web
Licensed

Mass Media   
CollegePublisher Network
2001 - Web
Public

Mass Media Archive   
NewspaperARCHIVE.com
1966 to 1991 Web
Public

Massachusetts History Online   
Gale Group
1980 - present Web
Licensed

Massachusetts Newsstand   
Proquest
Varies Web
Licensed

MathSciNet   
American Mathematical Society
1940- Web
Licensed

Medline (via ISI Web of Knowledge)   
Thomson ISI
1955 to present Web
Licensed

Mental Measurements Yearbook   
EBSCO
9th ed. (1985) - 15th ed. (2003) Web
Licensed

Mergent Online   
Mergent, Inc.
varies Web
Licensed

MLA International Bibliography   
EBSCO
1920's- Web
Licensed

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)   
U.S. Dept. of Commerce (NBER)
late 1970's- Web
Licensed

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts   
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
1972- Web
Licensed

Naxos Music Library   
Naxos
Varies Web
Licensed

NetLibrary (Electronic Books)   
NetLibrary
Web
Licensed

New York Times   
Gale Group
1995 - present Web
Licensed

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)   
Proquest
1851-2004 Web
Licensed

Newspaper Source   
EBSCO
varies Web
Licensed

North Adams Transcript   
Proquest
2005 - present Web
Licensed

Oceanic Abstracts   
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
1981- Web
Licensed

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography   
Oxford University Press (ANB, DNB)
Web
Licensed

Oxford English Dictionary   
Oxford English Dictionary
Varies Web
Licensed

PapersFirst   
OCLC FirstSearch
1993- Web
Licensed

PapersInvited   
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
Current Web
Licensed

Patriot Ledger (Quincy, MA)   
Proquest
1991 - present Web
Licensed

Plymouth County Business Review (MA)   
Proquest
1991- present Web
Licensed

Pre-CINAHL   
EBSCO
Web
Licensed

Professional Development Collection   
EBSCO
1965 - Web
Licensed

Project MUSE   
Project Muse
Web
Licensed

ProQuest Education Journals   
Proquest
1988- Web
Licensed

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source   
Proquest
1988- Web
Licensed

Protein Data Bank   
Research Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics (RCSB)
Web
Public

PsycARTICLES   
EBSCO
1987- Web
Licensed

PsycInfo   
EBSCO
1887- Web
Licensed

PubMed (Public Access)   
National Library of Medicine (NLM)
1960- Web
Public

PubMed (with links to UMass Boston holdings)   
National Library of Medicine (NLM)
1960- Web
Licensed

RefWorks   
RefWorks Instructions / FAQ
Group Code=RWUMassB
N/A Web
Licensed

Regional Business News   
EBSCO
1985- Web
Licensed

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature   
EBSCO
1967- Web
Licensed

RISM: International Inventory of Musical Sources after 1600   
NISC International, Inc.
1600- Web
Licensed

Roper Center Public Opinion Archives   
Roper Center, University of Connecticut
1935 to the present Web
Licensed

Science Citation Index Expanded (via ISI Web of Knowledge)   
Thomson ISI
1978- Web
Licensed

ScienceDirect   
Elsevier Science
1998- Web
Licensed

Scifinder Scholar   
CAS (Division of the American Chemical Society)
1907- Client Software
Software

Scirus   
Scirus - Elsevier Science
Varies Web
Public

Sentinel & Enterprise (Fitchburg, MA)   
Proquest
2005 - present Web
Licensed

Social Sciences Citation Index (via ISI Web of Knowledge)   
Thomson ISI
1978- Web
Licensed

SocINDEX with Full Text   
EBSCO
1895- Web
Licensed

SPIN (Sponsored Programs Information Network)   
InfoEd International
Web
Licensed

Standard Times (New Bedford, MA)   
Proquest
January 4, 1992 - August 19, 1997 Web
Licensed

Student Edition   
Gale Group
1980's - Web
Licensed

Sun (Lowell, MA)   
Proquest
2004 - present Web
Licensed

Telegram & Gazette (Worcester, MA)   
Proquest
1989 - present Web
Licensed

Tests in Print   
EBSCO
Web
Licensed

TOPICSearch   
EBSCO
Varies Web
Licensed

U.S. Census (WWW)   
U.S. Census Bureau
1990 Web
Public

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory   
Ulrich's (R. R. Bowker)
Varies Web
Licensed

ValueLine Research Center   
Valueline
2003- Web
Licensed

Wall Street Journal   
Proquest
1984- Web
Licensed

WDI Online (World Development Indicators)   
World Bank Group
1960-2002 Web
Licensed

Westlaw Campus Research   
Westlaw (Thomson West)
Varies Web
Licensed

Women and Social Movements in the United States   
Alexander Street Press
1760- Web
Licensed

WorldCat   
OCLC FirstSearch
Before 1000 BC to present Web
Licensed


UMass Boston Home Healey Library - University of Massachusetts at Boston
Healey Library | UMass Boston | UMass Amherst | UMass Dartmouth | UMass Lowell | UMass Worcester

100 Morrissey Blvd. | Boston, MA 02125-3393 | 617-287-5000